Tags

Diocesan Advisory Committee

For the Care of Churches

Netherton St Andrews - solar panels

When parishes want to make changes to their church, contents or grounds, they submit a faculty application (a request for permission) to the the Chancellor of the Diocese.

The Diocesan Advisory Committee (DAC), a body set up by Church of England legislation, is there to make recommendations to the Chancellor, and to advise the parish when changes are requested.

Faculties are then issued by the Chancellor or the Archdeacons, taking the DAC’s recommendations into account.

The DAC has members with a wide range of knowledge in a variety of specialist fields, such as church architecture, furnishings, art, archaeology, heating, furniture, stained glass, and so on. 

In addition to these members, the DAC can call upon others who, whilst not being members of the DAC, have been appointed by the Bishop of the Diocese to act as Advisers to the DAC in other specialist fields such as electrics, bells, organs and clocks.

All of this expertise is available to parishes at no charge.

Meeting dates and Application deadlines 2018

Meeting Date       Deadline for applications

Tuesday 30 January
Tuesday 27 February
Tuesday 27 March
Tuesday 24 April
Tuesday 22 May
Tuesday 26 June
Tuesday 31 July
Wednesday 19 September
Tuesday 30 October

Tuesday 27 November

Tuesday 9 January
Tuesday 6 February
Tuesday 6 March
Tuesday 3 April
Tuesday 1 May
Tuesday 5 June
Tuesday 10 July
Wednesday 29 August
Tuesday 9 October
Tuesday 6 November