General Synod

The General Synod is the national assembly of the Church of England. The General Synod considers and approves legislation affecting the whole of the Church of England, formulates new forms of worship, debates matters of national and international importance, and approves the annual budget for the work of the Church at national level.

There are 483 members of General Synod. Members are arranged into three Houses: Bishops, Clergy and Laity.

Current members from the Diocese of Worcester

Elections for the next session of General Synod are currently taking place. See who is standing for election in our diocese.

House of Bishops

  • Bishop of Worcester, Rt Revd Dr John Inge

Diocesan bishops, along with a few suffragan or assistant bishops, make up the House of Bishops.  The House also regularly meets separately from the Synod to discuss issues of episcopal ministry, mission and national issues affecting the Church of England.

House of Clergy

  • The Revd Vincent Wyn Beynon
  • The Venerable Nicola Jane Groarke
  • The Revd Andrew George Todd

Excluding bishops, all ordained members of the General Synod form the House of Clergy.

House of Laity

  • Ms Kashmir Ruth Garton
  • Mr Robin Christopher Lunn

The House of Laity consists of lay members from every diocese of the Church of England.  Nearly all lay members of Synod are elected by deanery synods (or annual meetings of the chaplaincies, in the case of the Diocese in Europe) or are chosen by and from the lay members of religious communities.

Find out more about the work of General Synod on the Church of England website.

Page last updated: 20th September 2021 7:58 PM
Bookmark and Share