About the Diocese of Worcester

An overview

The Diocese of Worcester is one of 41 (42 including the Diocese in Europe) that make up the Church of England.

The Diocese of Worcester also forms part of the Province of Canterbury.

The diocese covers an area of 670 square miles and includes the County of Worcestershire, the Metropolitan Borough of Dudley, and a few parishes in northern Gloucestershire, south east Wolverhampton and Sandwell - so we are not short on variety. 

From the urban north, with its impressive history and cultural mix, to the agricultural south where the rich colours of rural life flavour many people's day to day experience, the diocese has much to offer to visitor, resident and worshipper alike.

The diocese was founded in around 679 by St Theodore of Canterbury for the tribe of the Hwicce. Today the diocese covers a population of 877,000. We have 98 benefices, 172 parishes and 275 churches.

In 2015:

  • 12,300 people attended a church service on an average week
  • 10,400 attended a church service on an average Sunday
  • There were 14,400 on the electoral roll of our churches
  • 16,800 people attended Easter Services
  • 37,900 people attended Christmas services
  • 2,250 children and adults were baptised in our churches
  • 890 weddings were conducted
  • 2,950 people had a Church of England funeral in either a church or crematorium / cemetery

The diocese is led by the Bishop of Worcester, supported by the suffragan Bishop of Dudley. Likewise, the diocese is divided into two archdeaconries - Worcester and Dudley, who each have their own Archdeacon.

The work of the Diocese of Worcester is directed through the Diocesan Synod and organised through its boards and committees. The budget from the Diocese is £8 million, of which £6 million goes to the parishes. We receive £4.6 million from parish share.